About Our Division

The Health Communication Division is committed to excellence in research on the development of theory as well as the application of theory to communication in health promotion and health care. Our division has 568 members from 34 countries, representing more than 169 institutions. Areas of research include provider-patient interaction, social support networks, health information systems, medical ethics, health policy and health campaigns.

Division Bylaws

Please click on the following link to review the current version of our division's bylaws.


Future Conferences

2014 Seattle, WA, USA, May 22-26

2015 San Juan, Puerto Rico, USA, May 21-25

2016 Fukuoka, Japan

2017 San Diego, CA, USA

2018 Prague, Czech Republic

2019 Washington DC. USA

Immediate Past Conference

2013 London, UK, June 15-19

The theme of this past year's conference was "Challenging Communication Research." For summary information about the conference, please go here: http://convention2.allacademic.com/one/ica/ica13/

Joining Our Division

If you are interested in becoming a member of our division, simply select as one of your divisions the Health Communication Division when you sign-up/renew your ICA membership. Our membership numbers determine the number of slots we are assigned for papers and panels at each conference. There is no additional cost to joining up to three divisions within ICA.


  • ICA/NCA 2014 Thesis and Dissertation Awards

    Submissions are now being accepted for the 2014 ICA/NCA Thesis and Dissertation Awards. Please click on this link for more information about the award criteria and submission process.

    ICA and NCA are pleased to release a call for outstanding masters theses and doctoral dissertations in the area of health communication. A cash award is given in the amount of $500 each for the top dissertation and top thesis.

    Send an electronic copy of the nomination packet including cover letter and 5-page summary to: Mohan J. Dutta, National University of Singapore at cnmmohan@nus.edu.sg

    The deadline for receipt of the nomination packets is February 28, 2014.